On My Bookshelf: The Tutor’s Daughter

0 Flares Filament.io 0 Flares ×

Historical fiction and period dramas are my little indulgence, and The Tutor’s Daughter hit the spot.  When I received this book for review, I couldn’t wait to sit in a comfy chair and read it.  Set in Cornwall around the early 1800’s, The Tutor’s Daughter stirs together Jane Austen style with gothic mystery into a delectable dessert.  I couldn’t put it down; the more I read, the more drawn I was to the story.  The characters in The Tutor’s Daughter kept me guessing with that bit of formal romance that I love so much in Pride & Prejudice was perfectly displayed in this book.  The relationship between Emma and Henry reminded me a bit of Anne and Gilbert from my beloved Anne of Green Gables stories. There were so many strange little twists that kept me guessing, I just couldn’t focus on anything else while I read this book. Thank goodness for the slow cooker or my family wouldn’t have eaten until I finished the story.

Fans of Austen, Bronte, and similar literature will love the modest flirtation in The Tutor’s Daughter.  Downton Abbey fans will enjoy the interaction between the upstairs and downstairs characters.  The description of the architecture in these beautiful buildings just took me to Great Britain.  I couldn’t help but imagine the serene landscape that was constantly in the background of the intrigue.   The Tutor’s Daughter was the first of Klassen’s books that I’ve read.  It certainly won’t be the last.    One lucky winner can enter to win a copy of The Tutor’s Daughter in the Young Adult book giveaway I’m participating in!  The giveaway starts January 29 and ends Feb. 4.  This was a really fun book tour and I’m glad I got to be a part of it.
disclosure

Check this out….



Comments

  1. ihave to come back and enter the contest i love to read and blog on the book

  2. Sounds like a fun book! I haven’t watched Downtown Abbey but I have friends that love it.

Trackbacks

  1. […] of Green Gables.  It was a great weekend read that any Downton Abbey fan would enjoy!!   You can read my full review here.  Thanks to Litfuse Publicity, one reader will receive a copy of The Tutor’s Daughter. […]

  2. The Tutor's Daughter, giveaway says:

    […] of Green Gables.  It was a great weekend read that any Downton Abbey fan would enjoy!!   You can read my full review here.  Thanks to Litfuse Publicity, one reader will receive a copy of The Tutor’s […]

Speak Your Mind

*

CommentLuv badge

0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 StumbleUpon 0 Pin It Share 0 Google+ 0 Filament.io 0 Flares ×
badge