DAUGHTER 4254 by Leigh Statham #giveaway $25 Amazon gift card

3 Flares Filament.io 3 Flares ×

 

Disclosure: I received this book as part of the blog tour. Opinions shared are mine.

Lest you think that I’ve abandoned reading, let me assure you that I’ve been deep into the pages!  The book I just finished, Daughter 4254, was phenomenal.  It’s perfect for fans of The Giver, Anomaly, and Divergent.  

In this story, so much is missing from the world.  Color, emotion, and even names have been deemed “useless.”  As Daughter4254 begins to awaken to her own path in life, she must reconcile her past with her future.  It’s an amazing journey!

The author sets up the story in such a way that Daughter4254 must depend on the reader.  Since her world was shattered by her mother’s death, she really has no one to turn to for comfort.  Her father and brother are literally useless when it comes to emotional support.  Such things are even considered illegal!  As such, Daughter4254’s thoughts and concerns are narrated almost in a covert manner.  After all, what if they caught her in these feelings?

The whole Big Brother vibe carries a terribly ominous mood throughout the book.  It’s a thrilling allegory for the modern age.  As we wipe out history with the removal of monuments and banning books, are we also reshaping the way we think?  I wondered if the author intended for “Neuroadvanced” to imply autistic tendencies, because the characters in that category certainly seemed to be on the spectrum.  In education today, it seems that “neurotypical” is no longer relevant since we are constantly making allowances for this disability or that impairment.  Daughter4254 really had me thinking about these things!

I highly recommend this book. It’s a quick read, and you’ll soon find yourself whisking to the end just to see what happens.

Giveaway Details: US only

1 winner will receive a $25 Amazon Gift Card, US Only.

2 winners will receive a finished copy of DAUGHTER 4254.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

About The Book

Title: DAUGHTER 4254

Author: Leigh Statham

Pub. Date: December 5, 2017

Publisher: Owl Hollow Press

Pages: 286

Formats: Paperback, eBook

Find it: AmazoniBooksThe Kings English (exclusive signed copies)Goodreads

 

Daughter4254 used to think life in a community where art, music and names are outlawed would suffocate her creative spirit. Now that she’s rotting in a prison cell, she’s not sure her dying mother made the right choice when she entrusted her with the secrets of rebellion. Prison has given her plenty of time to relive every mistake and lose all hope.

Then she meets Thomas, a fellow inmate, who tells her stories of the mythical mountain colonies where people have names and the arts thrive. Together they plot an escape, knowing if they fail, they will die. Or worse, their consciousness will be taken by the MindWipe, leaving their bodies free for the government to use. When nothing goes as planned, Daughter4254 must choose between using her mother’s secret to better the world she hates, or following Thomas to the quiet life of freedom she has always craved.

 

About Leigh: 

Leigh Statham was raised in the wilds of rural Idaho but found her heart in New York City. She worked at many interesting jobs before settling in as a mother and writer.

She now resides in North Carolina with her husband, four children, eight chickens, a fluffy dog, and two suspected serial killer cats.

Leigh is currently working on an MFA, has written countless short stories, and is the author of lots of mediocre poetry. She is also the winner of the 2016 Southeast Review Narrative Nonfiction Prize for her short story “The Ditch Bank and the Fenceline.”

Website |Twitter |Instagram | Facebook | Wattpad|  Goodreads

 

Tour Schedule:

Week One:

10/25/2017- BookHounds YA– Interview

10/25/2017- Fan-Girl-Tabulous– Review

 

10/26/2017- Reese’s Reviews– Excerpt

10/26/2017- Caffeine and Composition– Review

 

10/27/2017- Hooked To Books– Guest Post

10/27/2017- YA Obsessed– Review

 

Week Two:

10/30/2017- Maddie.TV– Interview

10/30/2017- The Desert Bibliophile– Review

 

10/31/2017- Wandering Bark Books– Excerpt

10/31/2017- Kindle and Me– Review

 

11/1/2017- Wishful Endings– Interview

11/1/2017- Jena Brown Writes– Review

 

11/2/2017- Stuffed Shelves– Review

11/2/2017- Life of A Simple Reader– Review

 

11/3/2017- Books, Vertigo and Tea– Excerpt

11/3/2017- Savings in Seconds– Review

 

Week Three:

11/6/2017- Two Chicks on Books– Interview

11/6/2017- Cindy’s Love of Books– Review

 

11/7/2017- Captivated Reading– Review

11/7/2017- Bookalicious– Review

Thanks to Rock Star Books for including me on the tour.

Check this out….



Comments

  1. I love that the main character is a woman! Girl power!

  2. Looks like a book I would enjoy.
    Thanks for the contest.

  3. It honestly looks exciting. And I love when an blogger interviews the authors it lets me know they are just like me and a little bit of their background thank you so much !

  4. Carol Luciano says:

    Sounds fascinating & intriguing. Thanks for the post .
    This is a new Author for me but that will change after I’ve read this.

Speak Your Mind

*

CommentLuv badge

3 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 StumbleUpon 0 Pin It Share 3 Google+ 0 Filament.io 3 Flares ×
badge